Regional Officers
Regional Board Chair
Ann Thompson

Regional Board Vice-Chair Irving Warshauer

Regional Staff Regional Directo Aaron Ahlquist

Associate Regional Director Lindsay Baach Friedmann

Education
Education Director

National Officers
National Chair

CEO and National Director
Jonathan A. Greenblatt

Deputy National Director
Kenneth Jacobson

April 18, 2019

Via email (rbowen@atu.edu)

Arkansas Tech University
Office of the President
1509 N Boulder Ave
Administration Building, Suite 210
Russellville, Arkansas 72801

Dr. Robin Bowen, President:

In December of 2018, Arkansas Tech University, located in Russellville, Arkansas, named a scholarship in honor of former Professor of History Dr. Michael Link, who taught at Arkansas Tech for over fifty years until the time of his death in 2016. The administration of Arkansas Tech deemed it appropriate to honor Dr. Link despite being presented with compelling evidence that, throughout his tenure, Dr. Link repeatedly espoused Holocaust denial and anti-Semitism to his students and in his writing.

The evidence against Dr. Link includes anti-Semitic passages in his written work, testimony from former students and colleagues, and a well-documented 2005 incident in which Dr. Link presented anti-Semitic, neo-Nazi published texts in a graduate seminar as though they were legitimate historical works.

This evidence has been reviewed by the Anti-Defamation League, leaders of the Jewish Federation of Arkansas, and international and national scholars in the field of Holocaust Studies. All have found it credible and convincing, and all agree that Dr. Link presented hate-filled, non-factual, anti-Semitic misinformation to his students as though it offered a historically-valid point of view.

Over the course of Dr. Link's tenure, the University allowed him to expose thousands of students to these odious, dangerous mistruths under the guise of three deeply disturbing and absolutely intolerable tactics. First, Dr. Link presented misinformation as history. Second, he presented the anti-Semitic nature of this misinformation as though it were truthful, correct, and acceptable. Third, he presented the question of whether the Holocaust occurred—an irrefutable historical fact—as though it were an appropriate, valid point of debate.

The administration of Arkansas Tech has had months to remedy its honoring of Dr. Link at the request of ADL and concerned faculty members, but it has done nothing. The position of the administration clearly breaches the university mission and belies the standing of the university as a public institution devoted to higher education.





We condemn the inaction of Arkansas Tech University in the strongest possible terms. By simultaneously honoring and seeking to conceal the anti-Semitism of Dr. Link, the university has become complicit in his hate. We call upon Arkansas Tech University to immediately remedy this situation.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Greenblatt CEO and National Director Anti-Defamation League

Dr. Marianne Tettlebaum, Executive Director, Jewish Federation of Arkansas

At Shutte

Silvana Berlinski, President, Jewish Federation of Arkansas

Dr. Grace Donoho, Director and Founder, Arkansas Holocaust Education Committee

Deborah E. Lipstadt, Dorot Professor of Modern Jewish History and Holocaust Studies, Emory University

Jonathan Boyarin, Paul and Bertha Hendrix Director of Jewish Studies, Diann G. and Thomas A Mann Professor of Modern Jewish Studies, Cornell University

Dorian Stuber, Isabelle Peregrin Odyssey Associate Professor of English, Hendrix College Leslie Morris, Professor of German, Director, Center for Jewish Studies, University of Minnesota

Richard D. Sonn, Professor of History, University of Arkansas

Darcy Buerkle, Associate Professor and Chair, Department of History, Smith College

Bruno Chaouat, Professor of French and Jewish Studies, University of Minnesota

Alejandro Baer, Stephen C. Feinstein Chair in Holocaust and Genocide Studies, University of Minnesota

Rachel F. Brenner, Max and Frieda Weinstein-Bascom Professor of Jewish Studies, University of Wisconsin-Madison



Erin McGlothlin, Associate Professor, Department of Germanic Languages and Literatures, Department of Jewish, Islamic and Near Eastern Languages and Cultures, Washington University in St. Louis

Marion Kaplan, Skirball Professor of Modern Jewish History, New York University

Gary B. Cohen, Professor Emeritus of History, University of Minnesota

Jennifer Hoyer, Associate Professor of German and Jewish Studies, University of Arkansas

Petra M. Schweitzer, Professor of Comparative Literature, Shenandoah University

Daniel P. Reynolds, Seth Richards Professor of Modern Languages, Department of German Studies, Grinnell College

Daniel J. Schroeter, Amos S. Deinard Memorial Chair in Jewish History, Department of History, University of Minnesota

Alexandra Garbarini, Professor of History, Williams College

Jonathan Skolnik, Associate Professor of German, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Todd Presner, Associate Dean of Digital Innovation in the Division of Humanities, Chair of the Digital Humanities Program, Ross Professor of Germanic Languages, UCLA Karen Remmler, Chair of German Studies, Professor of German Studies, Critical Social Thought, and Gender Studies, Mount Holyoke College

Michael Meng, Associate Professor of History, Clemson University

Marat Grinberg, Chair, Division of Literature and Languages, Associate Professor of Russian and Humanities, Reed College

Gavriel Rosenfeld, Director of the Judaic Studies Program, Professor of History, Fairfield University

Hannah Holtschneider, Senior Lecturer in Jewish Studies, University of Edinburgh

Rochelle L Millen, Emerita Professor of Religion, Wittenberg University

Dorota Glowacka, Professor Humanities, Director of Contemporary Studies, Programme, University of King's College Halifax

Yuliya Komska, Associate Professor of German Studies, Dartmouth College

Jack Kugelmass, Melton Legislative Professor, Director, Center for Jewish Studies, Professor of Anthropology, University of Florida

Susannah Heschel, Eli Black Professor of Jewish Studies, Chair, Jewish Studies Program, Dartmouth College

Michael N. Dobkowski, Professor of Religious Studies, Hobart and William Smith Colleges



Jay Geller, Samuel Rosenthal Professor of Judaic Studies, Associate Professor of History, Case Western Reserve University

Robert Skloot, Professor Emeritus of Theatre and Jewish Studies, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Atina Grossman, Professor of History, Cooper Union

Bjorn Krondorfer, Director of Martin-Springer Institute and Endowed Professor of Comparative Religious Studies, Northern Arizona University

Michael Berkowitz, Professor of Modern Jewish History, University College London

Ofer Ashkenazi, Director, Koebner-Minerva Center for German History, The Hebrew University, Jerusalem

Kevin Simpson, Professor of Psychology, College of Education and Human Services, John Brown University

Shirli Gilbert, Professor of Modern History, University of Southampton

Samson Munn, Professor, UCLA; Adjunct Associate Professor, Tufts University; Fulbright Specialist in Peace and Reconciliation Studies David Patterson, Hillel Feinberg Chair in Holocaust Studies, Ackerman Center for Holocaust Studies, University of Texas at Dallas

Rachel N. Baum, Deputy-Directory, Sam & Helen Stahl Center for Jewish Studies, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee